DRIIFT KICKS OFF 2021 WITH AUSTRALIAN-BORN STAR RY X

DRIIFT KICKS OFF 2021 WITH AUSTRALIAN-BORN STAR RY X

DRIIFT KICKS OFF 2021 WITH AUSTRALIAN-BORN STAR RY X

Plus Laura Marling rebroadcast from London’s Union Chapel

Driift, the pioneering UK-based livestream business behind groundbreaking ticketed online events for artists across the world, is kicking off 2021 with a new event and a rebroadcast of a magical performance from last year.

Last year’s groundbreaking performance by Laura Marling at Union Chapel (previously accessible only to European and US audiences) will be rebroadcast to the world on Sunday 31 January. Meanwhile, Australian-born, US resident RY X will mark Driift’s first stream of 2021, presenting “RY X with String Ensemble – Live From The Vibiana Cathedral” on Sunday 14 February and is the perfect way to spend Valentine’s Day with your nearest and dearest.

DRIIFT KICKS OFF 2021 WITH AUSTRALIAN-BORN STAR RY X
RY X | Photo by Kacie Tomita

Hailing from Angourie in NSW’s Northern Rivers and now based in the US,  RY X  recently recorded the show within the elegant surroundings of the candlelit hall of the historic Vibiana Cathedral in Los Angeles. The Vibiana, originally the city’s first Archdiocese Catholic cathedral, has been beautifully transformed into a stunning performing arts venue in downtown LARY X chose the venue after playing an unforgettable show there in 2016.

RY X was accompanied by a string ensemble as they delivered a breathtaking set of reimagined fan favourites including ‘Berlin’‘Howling’ and ‘Only’. The result is a one-of-a-kind performance which captures the majesty and invention of RY X’s renowned live experience.

RY X commented: “I’m really excited to share a live stream show that feels really unique and intimate. I want to give something human, visceral and dripping in beauty. And it will be the first time I have ever played with this setup of instruments and sound. 

The Cathedral is a very beautiful space, and we have an amazing visual and sonic world to swim in with string sections, dance, analogue synths, guitars, drum machines and thousands of candles. The feeling of getting to connect people around the world for a moment in time in this way feels right, feels special. And I can’t wait to share it.”

DRIIFT KICKS OFF 2021 WITH AUSTRALIAN-BORN STAR RY X

TICKETS ON SALE 8PM AEDT TODAY

RY X 
Global Livestream from the Vibiana Cathedral, Los Angeles
Sunday 14 February 2021
10:00PM NZDT
8:00PM AEDT (NSW, ACT, Vic, Tas)
7:30PM ACDT (SA)
7:00PM AEST (QLD)
6:30PM ACST (NT)
5:00PM AWST (WA)
Tickets on sale from 8PM AEDT Friday 22 January RY X

This show will not be available on demand after the event so the only way to watch it is to buy a ticket. 

Streamed in June last year, Laura Marling’s incredible performance from London’s Union Chapel will be rebroadcast around the globe on Sunday 31 January 2021. Described as “an impeccable, rousing performance” by the Evening Standard, the performance features songs from her Grammy and Mercury Prize nominated album Song For Our Daughter.

Of her performance, Laura said; “In June last year – mid lockdown – I played two live streamed shows from The Union Chapel. It was an attempt to capture some of the sense of unity that live music can bring, even under the most unusual of circumstances. At the time I thought it might be a passing novelty, evidently those circumstances have become no less unusual.”

Tickets for the global rebroadcast are on sale now.

LAURA MARLING ON SALE NOW

LAURA MARLING
Rebroadcast from Union Chapel, London
Sunday 31 January  2021
10:00PM NZDT
8:00PM AEDT (NSW, ACT, Vic, Tas)
7:30PM ACDT (SA)
7:00PM AEST (QLD)
6:30PM ACST (NT)
5:00PM AWST (WA)
Tickets on sale LAURA MARLING

Given the global pandemic, the demand for high quality worldwide streaming events is growing exponentially. In 2020, the Driift team produced and broadcast 15 events across multiple timezones selling over 400,000 tickets in 150 countries. 

With artists ranging from Andrea Bocelli to Kylie, from Niall Horan to Courtney Barnett, Driift continues to set the production standards for global streaming events.

DRIIFT KICKS OFF 2021 WITH AUSTRALIAN-BORN STAR RY X
Follow Driift’s journey so far

PRAISE FOR DRIIFT

“The sky may be the limit for Driift’s global growth”
– Billboard

“The pop princess made the effortless transition from an arena stage
to her fans’ living rooms”

– Variety for Kylie

“If this is the gig of the future, Cave is the man to show us how it’s done” 
– The Independent for Nick Cave

“The most successful classical music live stream to date”
– IQ for Andrea Bocelli

“A true feat of imagination”
– Kerrang! for Biffy Clyro