Travel Ban Lifted for Travellers From Southern Africa

Travel Ban Lifted for Travellers From Southern Africa

Australia has lifted its travel restrictions on South Africa and seven other neighboring countries, effective immediately. The United Kingdom has announced that South Africa has been removed from its restricted “red list.” The reopening of Australia is only applicable to Australian citizens, permanent residents, direct family members, and visa holders who meet the requirements.

What’s With the New Travel Update?

In response to the United Kingdom’s decision to abandon its “red list,” Australia has withdrawn its restrictions on the following countries:

  • South Africa
  • Lesotho
  • Zimbabwe
  • Botswana
  • Namibia
  • Mozambique
  • Malawi
  • Eswatini

Following almost three weeks of severe travel restrictions imposed in the wake of the discovery of Omicron, the world is finally beginning to open up to South Africa. Scientists from South Africa’s Network for Genomic Surveillance were the first to discover the novel coronavirus strain, discovered towards the end of November.

Which Visa Holders are Eligible to Enter Australia Under this New Update?

Applicants from South Africa who have employment or study obligations in Australia are the ones who are most likely to be admitted. According to the current guidelines, an Australian visiting visa is not approved.

The reopening of travel between South Africa and Australia, which has a large population of expats, will be hailed as a step forward in eliminating global restrictions. Still, it will not be without its challenges. A direct passenger flight between Australia and South Africa does not exist. According to the airline, Qantas Airways plans to restart the route between Johannesburg and Sydney in January.

The Requirement of a Negative PCR

To enter Australia, all visitors are required to have a negative Covid-19 PCR test [nose and throat] performed within three days of their arrival. They are also required to complete Australian traveller declaration forms, which declare their vaccination status and confirm that they are fully aware of state and territory public health requirements.